Thinking out loud

When I First started this course, I thought to myself that this was going to be a very interesting module and I started to think of all the possibilities of the way we are going to study the science of digital marketing. I have had a little experience with digital marketing and I can confidently say no matter how much you learn or experience there is always something new to discover. I simply love the idea of this topic that causes us to truly understand how different each of my various other marketers doing this course with me look at this statement. I have come to realize that each of us based on our own experiences and relationship with the digital world will cause us to have a completely different outlook on what we consider as visitors and residents.

After reading the various posts made by my friends I noticed that the general concept of Visitors and residents in the digital world is roughly the same as the theory by White (White & Cornu, 2011) would suggest. The interesting part was that due to the parameters of this idea of two categories were broad, it allowed me to see how drastically it varied from person to person. Each blog post had its own unique light to shed on this theory and it was mainly based on their past experiences.

This made me realize that there is a digital visitor and resident in everyone of us, the main difference is the context in which we look at it and the situation in which we are currently in. A few examples would be that my post was on the context of security and private information causing the difference of category. In Novina’s post she focus on the motivation and education aspects of it that caused us to be in either category. Lastly in Winnie’s post she looked at the context and situation aspect that resulted in either category. So i guess the question now should not be which category you belong to but in what aspects do you connect to the digital world with and for each aspect which category to use choose to apply.

So are you reading this post as a visitor or a resident in this digital world you’re currently plugged into?

Cheers!

References

White, D. & Cornu, A. L. (2008). Not ‘Natives’ & ‘Immigrants’ but ‘Visitors’ & ‘Residents’. TALL blog, The University of Oxford.

Winnie, SOWINZ on WordPress.com. Available at: http://sowinz.wordpress.com/ [Accessed November 29, 2014].

Novina, 2014. ladyskorpios on WordPress.com. Available at: http://ladyskorpios.wordpress.com/ [Accessed November 29, 2014].

Leave a comment